2020 Robert Roy Award recipient, Norman Sieweke

2020 Robert Roy Award recipient, Dr. Roswita Dressler

This prestigious award is named in memory of the late Robert Roy, a distinguished Canadian second language educator and founding president of CASLT.

The award was first presented in 1983 to the late H. H. Stern (David), a highly respected educator and the visionary initiator of the National Core French Study. Through subsequent years, many outstanding educators have been recognized.

CASLT rewards the important contribution of the winners of the Robert Roy Award by granting them a lifetime membership to our association.

Award Criteria

To be considered, the nominee must:


Do you know a deserving colleague, mentor or friend?

Submit a brief text (no longer than 400 words) to describe how the nominee meets the criteria by email to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.. You may also attach other documents or links to documents in support of your nomination.

Self-nominations will not be accepted.

Deadline for nominations: May 31st of each year.

Past Award Recipients