Robert Roy Award nominees should:

  • Be distinguished educators or education researchers in the field of second language (L2) teaching and learning.
  • Have contributed significantly to the advancement of the L2 education field, such as through:
    • Conducting nationally and/or internationally recognized research.
    • Publishing articles, presentations, books, and/or videos on L2 research.
    • Developing, producing, and disseminating high quality pedagogical materials/resources.
    • Providing leadership for the advancement of L2 teaching and learning at the school, district, or ministry level.
    • Delivering professional development and professional support to L2 teachers.
    • Being involved in and dedicated to teacher or academic L2 organizations.


Robert Roy Award nominees must be CASLT members in good standing. Nominations are made by other CASLT members or by members of the public.

Other eligibility guidelines include:

  • Self-nominations are not accepted.
  • There is no limit to the number of times a member may be nominated.
  • Award recipients cannot win the same award twice.
  • Robert Roy Award nominations are kept on file and remain eligible candidates for two consecutive years.
  • The committee may name more than one winner.
  • The committee may choose no winners if it determines that there are no qualified nominees.
  • Posthumous awards are allowed.


Robert Roy Award winners receive:

  • A lifetime membership to CASLT
  • A commemorative plaque
  • An invitation to CASLT’s Networking Day to receive the award
  • Recognition on CASLT’s website and in Réflexions magazine

Deadline for Nominations

May 31 (each year)


Do you have a colleague, mentor, or friend deserving of the Robert Roy Award?

Nominate a candidate for the Robert Roy Award by completing the nomination form.




2021 Recipient

Dr. Angela George

Watch Dr. Angela George’s acceptance speech for the 2021 Robert Roy Award at CASLT’s 2021 Annual General Meeting.

Past Robert Roy Award Recipients

2021 – Dr. Angela George

2020 – Dr. Roswita Dressler

2020 – Norman Sieweke

2019 – Michelle De Abreu

2018 – Dr. Wendy Carr

2017 – Dr. Roy Lyster

2016 – Dr. Joseph Dicks

2015 – Dr. Callie Mady

2014 – Ruth Renters

2013 – Maureen Smith

2012 – Dr. Miles Turnbull

2011 – Micheline Schinck

2010 – Helen Coltrinari

2009 – Larry Vandergrift

2008 – Jim Howden

2007 – Dr. Claude Germain

2006 – Dr. Sharon Lapkin

2005 – Dr. Peter Heffernan

2004 – Stan Frey

2003 – Dr. Merrill Swain

2002 – Lilly Borges Oldham

2001 – Dr. Wally Lazaruk

2000 – Dr. Birgit Harley

1999 – Don Mazerolle

1998 – Dr. Sally Rehorick

1997 – Heike Sasaki

1996 – Harvey Chatlain

1995 – No award given

1994 – Monique Duplantie

1993 – Denise Bourassa

1992 – Caterina Sotiriadis

1991 – No award given

1990 – Janet Poyen

1989 – Dr. Raymond Leblanc

1988 – Dr. Roger Tremblay

1987 – No award given

1986 – Dr. Pierre Calvé

1985 – Dr. Anthony Mollica

1984 – Dr. James P. Jones

1983 – Dr. H. H. Stern

Become a Member

CASLT supports its members by creating opportunities for professional development, initiating and disseminating research, and facilitating the exchange of information and ideas among language educators. Memberships start at only $45 per year!

Compare Membership Categories Sign up today