HLM Award recipients must have contributed significantly to the advancement of language teaching and learning in Canada in any of the following areas:

  • Advocacy and promotion
  • Policy
  • Administration and leadership (school, ministry, or association context)
  • Professional development/resource development
  • Pre-service teacher education
  • Research and publication
  • Contributions in other areas


Honorary Lifetime Member Award winners receive:

  • A lifetime membership to CASLT
  • A commemorative plaque
  • An invitation to CASLT’s Networking Day to receive the award
  • Recognition on CASLT’s website and in Réflexions magazine

Selection Procedure

CASLT’s Board of Directors selects an Honorary Lifetime Member Award recipient each year.

2023 Recipient

Mary Joy Elijah


Past Honorary Lifetime Member Award Recipients

2023 – Mary Joy Elijah
2022 – Glenn Cake
2021 – Léo-James Lévesque
2020 – Dr. Mary Grantham O’Brien
2019 – Dr. Brian North
2018 – Valerie Pike
2017 – Michael Salvatori
2016 – Fred Genesee
2015 – Richard Clément
2014 – Patsy Lightbown
2013 – David Little
2012 – Rose-Marie Lozier-Cool
2011 – Jim Cummins
2010 – Graham Fraser
2009 – Stuart Wachowicz
2008 – Claudette Tardif
2007 – Boyd Pelley
2006 – Dyane Adam
2005 – Vincent Bueti
2004 – Hilaire Lemoine
2003 – Keith McLeod
Borishlaw Bilash (CASLT Founder)
Marcel Bonneau (CASLT Founder)

Become a Member

CASLT supports its members by creating opportunities for professional development, initiating and disseminating research, and facilitating the exchange of information and ideas among language educators. Memberships start at only $45 per year!

Compare Membership Categories Sign up today
Enable Cookies

Some of our forms require cookies to be enabled in your browser settings. Consult these instructions for assistance.

Certains de nos formulaires nécessitent l’activation des cookies dans les paramètres de votre navigateur. Consultez ces instructions pour obtenir de l’aide.